My first audiobook

I have a 45 minute commute to and from work everyday that I usually fill with music, phone conversations, or just plain ol’ silence (especially after a particularly trying day listening to screaming children).  I also often complain that I don’t have enough time to read all of the books I want to read.  Co-workers have often suggested I listen to audiobooks during my drive but I’ve always shrugged them off in the past.  I thought I wouldn’t be able to concentrate, or that I’d somehow miss something important by listening and not reading. 

Well, I finally took their advice and snagged the first book in the series by Lemony Snicket, A Series of Unfortunate Events:  The Bad Beginning.  The narration was read by Tim Curry and I have to admit, I absolutely loved it!  This is going to be a great way for me to catch up on some of the titles I should know but that for whatever reason constantly get pushed to the bottom of my pile.

3 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

3 responses to “My first audiobook

  1. Nicki

    Woopie! I knew you would like audio books if you just gave the right ones a chance. I do enjoy Tim Curry’s voice 🙂

  2. Laura

    It took me a while to discover audio books too. I also have a long and often traffic filled commute. I tried audio books for adults first and found them difficult to follow. And then I discovered the wonderful world of YA lit on audio book.

    Tim Curry also narrates the Sabriel trilogy, which is fantastic. Neil Gaiman also narrates a lot of his own stuff. The Graveyard Book was an excellent listen!

    YALSA has a list of amazing audio books. I find that books I like in print don’t always translate well to audio; I’ve also found the reverse to be true as well. http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/amazingaudiobooks/audiobooks.cfm

  3. dlarca

    Thanks for the tip, Laura! I’ll be sure to check out that website…and pick up The Graveyard Book! That’s another one that’s been on my list to read…

Leave a Reply

