The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

ineffable, adj.
“These words will ultimately end up being the barest of reflections, devoid of the sensations words cannot convey. Trying to write about love is ultimately like trying to have a dictionary represent life. No matter how many words there are, there will never be enough.” (p. 120)

~*~*~*~*~

In tiny dictionary definition blurbs, David Leviathan gives us a snapshot of love and all the ways it can liberate you, destroy you and change you. His prose is tight, but poetic; he’s able to convey so much in so very little.

I found myself marking so many passages in this book for the beauty of the moments and experiences they capture. I can’t wait to read it again.

~*~*~*~*~

abyss, n.
“There are times when I doubt everything. When I regret everything you’ve taken from me, everything I’ve given you, and the waste of all the time I’ve spent on us.” (p. 6)

awhile, adv.
“…It is easy for me to say it took me awhile to know. That is about as accurate as I can get. There were sneak previews of knowing, for sure. Instances that made me feel, oh, this could be right. But the moment I sheifted from a hope that needed to be proven to a certainty that would be continually challenged? There’s no pinpointing that…” (p. 24)

reservation, n.
“There are many times when I worry that I’ve already lost myself. That is, that my self is so inseparable from being with you that if we were to separate, I would no longer be. I save this thought for when I feel the darkest discontent. I never meant to depend so much on someone else.” (p. 170)

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan
Adult fiction | 211 pages | January 2011 | Farrar, Straus and Giroux  | 0374193681  | Library copy
2 Comments

Filed under Adult Literature, Book Reviews

2 responses to “The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

  1. Roxanne

    I want to know more about it, we will have to talk about it.

  2. Pingback: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan (2011) « DogEar

Leave a Reply

