Top Twelve of 2011

It’s that time of year again.  List time.  Even though I haven’t been blogging regularly anymore, I still can’t resist a good list.  So here, in no particular order, are the best books I read in 2011.  I couldn’t keep it to just 10, so I figured 12 was ok without overdoing it – 12 months, 12 books…you get the picture.  🙂 

  1. The Night Circus by Erica Morgenstern :  An atmospheric, spellbinding debut about magic, illusion and love that I couldn’t put down.
  2. State of Wonder by Ann Patchett :  I’ve been a fan of every one of Ms. Patchett’s books that I’ve read and this was no exception.  An intriguing look at personality, loyalty and ethics set in the Amazon jungle.
  3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett :  Still can’t believe it took me this long to actually read this book!  One of my favorite ever!
  4. The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning :  A down-to-earth look at what the Gospel is really about.
  5. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese :  A sweeping family saga about doctors in an Ethiopian mission hospital.  So, so, so different from a lot of what I’ve read and so, so, SO, good.
  6. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys :  The gripping story of a family ripped from their home in 1941 Poland and their struggle to survive being shipped off to Siberia.  I’ve read a lot about this time period, but never knew much about the Siberian work camps.  Have the Kleenex on hand for this one.
  7. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain : An evocative look at Ernest Hemingway’s life through the eyes of his first wife, Hadley Richardson. 
  8. A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park :  One of the best and most compelling books I’ve ever read.  Don’t be fooled by the slimness of novel – it packs a HUGE punch.
  9. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King :  This book took me by surprise with how much I loved it.  It’s a complex and nuanced exploration about the complicated nature of love.
  10. I Will Carry You:  A Dance of Grief and Joy by Angie Smith :  Cried my way through this one.  A heartrending story about grief, faith and how the love of God can get you through even the most painful of circumstances.
  11. I Married You For Happiness by Lily S. Tuck :  A fresh and honest look into all of the things, good and bad, that make up a marriage.
  12. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan : Another poignant exploration about the complexities of relationships and love.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Top Twelve of 2011

  1. I can’t wait to read The Paris Wife after reading your description! I loved Midnight in Paris – it must have been an incredible age…. I also have been meaning to read Cutting for Stone but wasn’t sure how it would be – now I’m going to check it out!

  2. dlarca

    I actually wrote a full review of The Paris Wife … did you see that one? I LOVED that book! And Cutting for Stone was absolutely amazing. Let me know how you like them!

Leave a Reply

