Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

ImageObviously it’s been awhile…I haven’t been blogging because I feel like the act of having to write about what I read diminshed the joy I have always found in reading.  But every once in awhile, I might have something to say. 😉

I recently read a blog post that made a case for high stakes in literature.  Books where the stakes are high, either physically or emotionally, are the books that grab you.  The books you can’t forget.  The books you rush to the end of but then are sorry to put down.  (read full post here: http://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/the-case-for-high-stakes-in-stories-that-is/)

Liar & Spy was not that book.

Maybe Rebecca Stead and I just don’t understand each other.  I didn’t fall all over myself like most of the children’s lit population when When You Reach Me came out either.  But I decided to give her another chance.  Sadly, I think this is where Ms. Stead and I will part ways.

Liar & Spy is well written.  The characters are good, the story is good, but there is nothing that reaches out and GRABS you.  There is nothing that makes it GREAT.  Several reviewers who have been singing its praises on Goodreads have called it “subtle”.  Hmmm.  In this case, subtle, to me at least, equals boring.

I’ve read lots of books that are just ok and haven’t felt the need to say anything about them.  But lately I feel that many of these books are getting so much attention that they don’t deserve.  Am I missing something?  Are my tastes so completely different from those of the general population of readers?

Leave a comment

Filed under Children's Literature, Uncategorized

Leave a comment